Mensch, Musik! #5
Border Issues. An Exploration

with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB)

"You will not find the limits of the soul, even if you walked down all the roads; it is so deep and so wide." (Heraclitus)

Wir brauchen Ihre Einwilligung
Dieser Inhalt wird von YouTube bereit gestellt. Wenn Sie den Inhalt aktivieren, werden ggf. personenbezogene Daten verarbeitet und Cookies gesetzt. Zur Datenschutzerklärung

A traveler crosses the border to another country.
A soldier crosses the border to another country.
A fugitive crosses the border to another country.
A timid one crosses the border of his fears.
A dying person crosses the border to death.

The Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin crosses the borders of symphonic music by inviting artists to push the boundaries of classical performance practice electronically, videographically and philosophically, while under the direction of Tarmo Peltokoski it takes up composers who touched on borders of their respective times.

In 1945, Dmitri Shostakovich did not compose the pathetic victory celebration with Symphony No. 9 that the Soviet rulers - and not only they - had expected of him. At the same time, Ralph Vaughan Williams was working on Symphony No. 6, in which one can immediately hear the personal consternation. Mauricio Kagel's "Ten Marches to Miss Victory" convey in a grandiose comic way the message that the widespread assumption that one can solve the world's problems in lockstep is an illusion. It's a message that composer and performance artist Samaquias Lorta takes up to give it yet another new, digital twist.

Iannis Xenakis' bizarre sounds push the boundaries of acoustic convention. The evening’s light performance creates visual references to Richard Wagner's prelude to "Lohengrin," which, with its beguilingly beautiful "Everything will be all right" vision, already bears the potential failure within itself. The futility of the search for answers is also contemplated by Charles Ives, an American contemporary of Arnold Schönberg. - tauchgold embeds all these impulses in a context of open, philosophical questions: Where do we want to draw the line when we talk about borders?

In partnership with Catalyst - Institute for Creative Arts and Technology.

Samaquias Lorta - composition, e-cello & syntheziser
Tarmo Peltokoski - conductor
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
tauchgold - concept, direction

Premiere: 07.10.22, Haus des Rundfunks, Berlin


+49 177 7 12 00 62 (Florian Goldberg)
+49 178 636 56 80 (Heike Tauch)

More about Heike Tauch and Florian Goldberg

Imprint / Privacy