Mensch, Musik! #6
Return To The Unknown

with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB)

Wir brauchen Ihre Einwilligung
Dieser Inhalt wird von YouTube bereit gestellt. Wenn Sie den Inhalt aktivieren, werden ggf. personenbezogene Daten verarbeitet und Cookies gesetzt. Zur Datenschutzerklärung

A German Jewish woman returns home to Berlin.
A Madagascan cellist returns home to Johann Sebastian Bach.
A Japanese Briton returns home to the land of his mothers.
An aging body to the dance of its youth.
An avant-garde musician to Mendelssohn Bartholdy.
A pacifist to battle.

A German Jewess
Returns home
To Jerusalem
A German Muslim Woman

A young Pashtun returns home to peace.
A Kreuzberg Turk Returns Home to Cappadocia.
A painter to the landscape.
A string quartet to improvisation.
A soul into nothingness.
A German Muslim woman returns home to Berlin.

Who says "I" when I say "I"?
What is home? What does foreign mean?

A German is a dancer is a Jew is a Muslim is a musician is a Berliner is a Colombian is a painter is a female Chinese manager is the Cappadocian operator of the snack bar in Yorckstraße from Galicia is …

When are you a stranger to your homeland, when are you at home in a foreign land?

Conceived and staged by the artist duo tauchgold, the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin embarks on an interdisciplinary search for questions of origin, homeland and identity with its sixth evening of the "Mensch, Musik!" series under the direction of Ruth Reinhardt.
It leads from symphonic and chamber music to dance, language and electronic music.
All selected works and composers are connected to the theme of the evening - from Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy to Ursula Mamlok, George Walker and Bohuslav Martinu to Dai Fujikura, electronically commented and expanded by Richard Scott, with texts by tauchgold and danced by Gustavo Llano.

In partnership with Catalyst - Institute for Creative Arts and Technology.

Philipp Mathmann - countertenor
Mohamed Gamal - trombone
Richard Scott - composition & synthesizer
Gustavo Llano - choreography & dance

Ruth Reinhardt - conductor
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
tauchgold - text, concept, direction

Premiere: 03.02.2023, Haus des Rundfunks, Berlin
Broadcast: 07.02.2023, Deutschlandfunk Kultur


+49 177 7 12 00 62 (Florian Goldberg)
+49 178 636 56 80 (Heike Tauch)

More about Heike Tauch and Florian Goldberg

Imprint / Privacy